Hypertext Conference 2008

SIS logo

ACM logo


Vivisimo logo

Social Linking

A new area of research, social annotation allows users to easily markup other authors' resources using collaborative mechanisms such as tagging, filtering, voting, editing, classification, and rating. These social processes result in many types of links between texts, users, concepts, pages, articles, media, and so on. We welcome submissions on design, analysis, and modeling of information systems driven by social linking. Topics of interest include (but are not limited to):

  • Design of collaborative annotation mechanisms
  • Critical mass and incentives of social participation (e.g. games)
  • User interfaces for collaborative annotation
  • Applications to search, retrieval, recommendation, and navigation
  • Explicit vs. inferred social links (e.g. mining query logs)
  • Integration with content-based systems  (e.g. linking in blogs)
  • Socially induced measures of similarity, relatedness, or distance
  • Co-evolution of social, information, and semantic networks
  • Analysis of structure and dynamics of social information networks
  • Behavioral patterns of social linking
  • Linguistic analysis of social annotation spaces
  • Formal and generative models of social annotation
  • Unstructured vs. structured social knowledge representations
  • Implementation and scalability of social link representations
  • Automatic and user-based evaluation
  • Robustness against spam and other forms of social abuse
  • Mapping and Visualization of social spaces and networks s

Program Chairs

Filippo Menczer, Indiana University, USA
Ciro Cattuto, ISI foundation, Italy

Senior Program Committee

  • Ricardo Baeza-Yates, Yahoo! Research Barcelona
  • Junghoo Cho, UCLA
  • Lee Giles, PSU
  • Wendy Hall, University of Southampton
  • Bernardo Huberman, HP Labs
  • Jon Kleinberg, Cornell University
  • Raghu Ramakrishnan, Yahoo! Research
  • Luc Steels, Sony CSL Paris

Program Committee

  • Lada Adamic, University of Michigan
  • Ruj Akavipat, Indiana University
  • Harith Alani, University of Southampton
  • Andrea Baldassarri, Sapienza University of Rome
  • Stefano Battiston, ETH Zurich
  • Rik Belew, UCSD
  • Dominik Benz, University of Kassel
  • Johan Bollen, LANL
  • Shannon Bradshaw, Drew University
  • Andrea Capocci, Sapienza University of Rome
  • Riley Crane, ETH Zurich
  • Debora Donato, Yahoo! Research Barcelona
  • Scott Golder, HP Labs
  • Peter Hanappe, Sony CSL Paris
  • Paul Heymann, Stanford University
  • Bettina Hoser, University of Karlsruhe
  • Andreas Hotho, University of Kassel
  • Jeannette Janssen, Dalhousie University
  • Pranam Kolari, Yahoo!
  • Renaud Lambiotte, Université catholique de Louvain
  • Marc Light, The Thomson Corporation
  • Bing Liu, UIC
  • Vittorio Loreto, Sapienza University of Rome
  • Ana Maguitman, Universidad Nacional del Sur
  • Massimi Marchiori, University of Padova
  • Ben Markines, ISI Foundation
  • Paolo Massa, Fondazione Bruno Kessler
  • Mark Meiss, Indiana University
  • Peter Mika, Yahoo! Research Barcelona
  • Evangelos Milios, Dalhousie University
  • David Millen, IBM
  • John Paolillo, Indiana University
  • Filippo Radicchi, ISI Foundation
  • Jacob Ratkiewicz, ISI Foundation
  • Luis Rocha, Indiana University
  • Heather Roinestad, Indiana University
  • Vito D.P. Servedio, Sapienza University of Rome
  • Frank Smadja, Toluna
  • Steffen Staab, University of Koblenz-Landau
  • Gerd Stumme, University of Kassel
  • Martin Svensson, Ericsson Research
  • Eugenio Tisselli, Sony CSL
  • Karin Verspoor, LANL
  • Paris Roelof van Zwol, Yahoo! Research Barcelona
  • Alan Wexelblat, HOVIR
  • Le-Shin Wu, Indiana University